Monday Makeover – Pit Paste

Adopting a healthy lifestyle does not mean saying good-bye to the things you love forever. It’s a continuous shift; a shift away from the things that are not serving you, and towards that which allows you to shine.

Last week, I shared an article “7 Reasons to Quit Using Store Bought Deodorant”, which got some conversations going, and then a day or two later I noticed another friend looking for advice on natural deodorant. So I figured, it must be time to share my makeover on deodorant.

My motivation came at my annual doctor appointment quite a few years ago when the examining doctor found a lump in my breast, and I found one in my throat. Those are just not the words you ever want to hear. The doctor went on to comment that it was near my armpit, which is where most lumps occur. Really?? It seemed fairly obvious to me that most every adult has a daily ritual that involves their armpits, and perhaps we should be examining this a little further. At this time, the issues of chemicals in deodorant weren’t as publicized as they are now.

Ok, throw away all store bought deodorant. Then real life sets in and you realize you also don’t really want to stink. In my case, a parade of natural deodorants marched into my home just to end up in a drawer. They were followed by crystals, which worked fairly well until pregnancy hormones were introduced to the battle, and those poor crystals didn’t stand a chance. Around the same time, my daughter was coming of age to start wearing a deodorant, and I knew I had to find something that I would be ok with her wearing. Finally, I stumbled on a recipe that was victorious in the battle of stink.

It’s really easy, and really effective. Here you go…

1/3 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup (aluminum free) natural baking soda

1/4 cup arrowroot powder

20 drops essential oils – I find lavender is essential, some other good choices to blend are geranium, cypress, clary sage, basil, or kunzea

So there you have it. Adopting a more natural approach to your self-care routine is not just a great way to honor you, but helps improve hormone issues, autoimmune issues, and reduce the risk of cancer. Not to mention, when your body is working better and feeling better, so are you!

 

Learn how to improve your results holistically – http://www.kalusion.com

Leave a comment